Paper Dress Princess

Posted: April 25, 2014 in Uncategorized

About a year ago I was at my day job and got a frantic text from a friend asking me to perform in her event that night. I didn’t have time to go home and get a costume, but I wanted to help out my friend and pick up an extra gig so I said yes. This is not the first time this has happened so I have a couple acts that I can put together with a cute pair of panties and a quick trip to Duane Reade. I’ve stripped out of street clothes a couple times but audiences respond better to something more costume-y so I like to make a dress out of paper. Usually I use wrapping paper but this was a gothy event so I thought that would be too peppy. I went with Newspaper instead. I picked a song, rehearsed in my head, and unleashed the performance later that night.

Sometimes it’s that easy. Not always. Not often. But sometimes. It probably helps if you have a degree and buttloads of experience in performance and design.

People seemed really impressed by what I’d thrown together in a dark club with some newspaper and packing tape. And so was I, actually. So when I decided to put together a portfolio of walkabout characters to pitch to event designers, I thought a newspaper dress would be a good addition. They’d be cool to have at a party, easy to transport, I could do this by myself or with a bunch of people, and I could even make them for guests as part of the entertainment at an event assuming they wanted to be in a dress they had to be cut out of. Which could be fun! I also recently met a professional origami folder (I love New York) so I’m going to see if he can teach me to fold more accessories like flowers or something. Also, since it’s paper, these dresses could be printed with literally anything; photo collages, company logos, magazine pages, book pages, wrapping paper, blueprints, maps.

Damn, I think I have some more photo shoots to do….

Anyway, I sketched some ideas, raided my wig and jewelry boxes, got the lovely Charles Stunning to model and the Talented Steward Noack to take photos, and Voila!

IMG_6174 IMG_6181 IMG_6189 IMG_6211 IMG_6217 IMG_6243 IMG_6263

Comments
  1. Gary says:

    Gorgeous. And I can practically image the sound of the paper tearing.

  2. a friend says:

    Steward Noack’s work is AWESOME! Would love to see more or it with you modelling.

    • definitelynotdita says:

      I’ve modeled for him a lot actually! I’ll try to post more of his photos in the future.

Leave a Reply

