The Next Big Thing Bloghop

Posted: March 10, 2013 in Uncategorized

I was tagged by David Henry Sterry, the awesome writer and book doctor in this thing called the Next Big Thing Blog hop where writers answer questions about their book and finish by tagging other writers, asking them to do the same.  I’m really honored that David chose to tag me because he’s awesome and he knows a TON of awesome writers.  He’s currently editing an anthology that I will be a part of, the follow up to his hit anthology Hos, Hookers, Call Girls and Rent Boys.

1.What is the working title of your book?

Something’s Always Wrong

2. Where did the idea come from for your book?

The original idea came when I was 15, watching the movie American Pie and thinking how much I’d rather watch a screwball comedy about *girls* trying to lose their virginity.  Then I fell in love with a 23 year old man and it turned out that trying to lose my virginity to him was more like a screwball tragedy.

3. What genre does your book fall under?

There’s a relatively new genre known as New Adult and I think this falls pretty squarely into that category.  Its protagonists are people in their late teens and early twenties, trying to figure out how life works.  It’s a coming of age story masquerading as a doomed romance.

4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Emma Stone in Easy A is a pretty good approximation of my main character, Melora.

For the male lead, Dylan, um…… Who’s the modern equivalent of Luke Perry?  I’m just going to say Joseph Gordon Levitt because he’s dreamy.

Yeah, that works.

5. What is a one sentence synopsis of your book?

Something’s Always Wrong is the story of two people who fall in love despite their best efforts but no matter where they go, or whom they fuck, they stay in love whether they like it or not.

6. How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

The idea, relationship, and bits of writing knocked around in my head for over 10 years but from the time I actually sat down with the intent to write a novel to the time I actually had a full first draft was about a year.

7. What other books would you compare this story to in your genre?

I’m still trying to figure that out, actually.

8. Who or what inspired you to write this book?

“Dylan.”  Always “Dylan.”

And a hell of a lot of 90’s music.

9. Will your book be self-published or by an agency?

Oh, christ, I hope it gets picked up.  If I can’t get it published, I’ll self publish.  But first I’ll have to take a long, hard, look at *why* it didn’t get published.

10. What else about the book might piqué the reader’s interest?

It’s not all longface about difficult, young, love.  There’s also a TON of hot sex scenes.  A number of beta readers have described it as “boner inducing.”

and now…

TAG, you’re it. The following writers have been called out for their chance to answer these questions about their own work and then to TAG others

Marc Dolan

Catherynne Valente

Brad Lawrence

David Kudler

Comments
  1. David Kudler says:

    Wow. “Boner-inducing. That definitely would pique a lot of peoples’ interest.

    And… didn’t we watch American Pie together? I have a memory of me and Maura watching that and X-Men with you and a few other students….

    • definitelynotdita says:

      We did! With Maura and Helena. You were horribly embarrassed the whole time.

      • David Kudler says:

        Heh.

        In fairness to me, it wasn’t embarrassment so much as sheer discomfort. I HATE movies where people humiliate themselves, and that was, essentially, the whole point of American Pie: guys trying to figure out what girls wanted and utterly humiliating themselves in the process.

Leave a Reply

