Ribcage Vest

Posted: October 1, 2012 in Uncategorized

Holy crap it’s been a while since I posted anything.  Sorry guys, Deadpool broke me.  Ok, not really.  But shit’s been crazy.  At some point I’ll post about my Zipper Dress but today I’m posting my ribcage vest because it’s part of Bare this thursday and I want you all to see that show.  Not only will you see this baby in action, you’ll see me tell a story and get naked twice.

Originally this was going to be a corset but I don’t really know how to make those and by the time I finished the patterning I realized that I had just patterned a vest.  I probably could have just modified an existing vest pattern but that didn’t occur to me at the time.  Also, I haven’t fully unpacked and I don’t know where my patterns are.  Ugh.

So I patterned this vest

Image

I first made it out of fabric I wasn’t crazy about.  Then I went and bought fabric I *was* crazy about.  The moral is, hold out for the good stuff.  Especially if you’re a crazy perfectionist like me.  One of my teachers in college said “You don’t win friends with salad” by which meant that if you start with crappy materials, they’re going to remain crappy.

Then I had to make the ribcage part.  I wanted it to be dimensional so I made a stuffed ribcage.  I took the original muslin and sketched out a ribcage on it.

Image

Image

 

Then I cut that out, traced the pieces onto fabric sewed the whole thing together and stuffed the sucker.  This turned out to be WAY harder than it sounds.  Like WAY.  First of all, it’s really hard to turn something shaped like a ribcage.  It’s also really hard to stuff it.  I also should not have used a chiffony fabric that shreds when you put too much pressure on it. 

I finally got one side together and it looked like total crap.  So learn from me, don’t make anything stuffed out of something chiffonesque, and something stuffed is always going to look kinda cutesie.  That’s just what it does.  Also, sometimes you just have to scrap a day’s worth of work because it just sucks.  Try not to throw yourself out the window when this happens.

So I regrouped and went in search of an alternative.  I found it in this awesome beaded trim.

Image

Following Amber Ray’s advice, I sealed the back with hot glue so that it wouldn’t unravel in the future and then pinned and hand sewed everything in place.

Image

BUT you anatomy nerds are thinking “Where’s the Sternum?”

Good question, Nerds!

I wanted to make the sternum out of Fimo.  I’m not entirely sure why.  Originally, I wanted to make the ribs out of fimo but I (quite correctly) realized that would be crazy and probably impossible (or at least really stupidly difficult) and abandoned that.  But I wanted to have some part of it be hard and brittle, like bone. Thus, fimo sternum.  I also wanted it be blinged out a little so I used this big crystal I had lying aorund

I started with a wire armature, because fimo doesn’t hold its shape before it’s baked.

Image

Then I padded the frame out with tinfoil because you don’t want Fimo to be too thick.

Image

Then I covered ti with fimo, got it the shape I wanted and baked it.  But FIRST, I made sure to poke some holes in it so I could sew it down.

Image

And this is what I ended up with.

Image

It looks a lot better in person, though still not *quite* what I want it to be.  I may do some hand beading so it’ll look a bit more anatomically correct but that depends on whether I get everything else ready in time for the show.

BTW Bare is this thursday, 10pm at Under St. Marks.  It’s going to be awesome.

Comments
  1. Brie says:

    Um, that is TOTALLY AMAZING! Your work is always so inspiring. Damn. Love you!

Leave a Reply

