Things I’ve Learned About Producing From Firefly

Posted: April 24, 2012 in Uncategorized

The first rule of flying producing is Love. You can learn all the math in the ‘Verse, but you take a boat in the air that you don’t love, she’ll shake you off just as sure as a turn of the worlds. Love keeps her in the air when she oughta fall down, tells you she’s hurtin’ before she keels. Makes her a home.  Seriously.  You must love your show with all your heart or it will fucking fail.

Simon and Kaylee

Things will never go smooth.  Problem solving is one of the best skills you can possibly learn.

It never hurts to have a hot man with a large gun to back you up.

Never fucking give up.  Ever.*

*Ok, sometimes you give up on a specific project because it’s just not going to work.  But then you take the heart of that project and put it into a different medium (i.e. comic, movie, whathave you)  You can’t stop the signal.

What’s going on? you ask.  Who are these naked people?  Why haven’t you updated this blog in FOREVER?!?!

I moved.  And then it was the holidays.  And then I went to Japan.  And then I went to Mexico.  And then I produced a Firefly burlesque show.  And then my oldest friend got married.  And then I produced another Firefly burlesque show.  And then I had to finish my Deadpool costume.  And then it was right now.  And I don’t know what happens after that.

So let’s back up to the part where I produced a Firefly Burlesque show.  And then another one.

I produced a show!  And did a good job!  Most of me did not think I could do this because I am SUPER ADD and not good at organizing things or finishing projects.  On the other hand, I’m SUPER ADD so I’m really good at working under tight deadlines and problem solving in crisis situations.  So they kind of balance out.  Also, a Firefly show was a really good idea and I had an incredibly good cast.  Also I had the help of a great venue and the already awesome and established Epic Win Burlesque.  It was their support and good name that got the show into Time Out New York, so we sold the hell out and had a line of people around the block waiting to see the damn thing.  It was one of the best feelings in the world.  And everyone had a blast both seeing it and doing it.  And since we had to turn away a bunch of people, we did another performance a few weeks later.  It was awesome.

And I got to do an act that climaxed with this

Yes, those are sparks flying from my crotch.

Holy crap, you say, how did you do that?  Easy.  I cheated.  I hired someone who was already good ad working with leather and metal to make me panties out of said materials.  DIY is awesome most of the time but when you’re putting a metal grinder that close to your genitals, it’s time to hire a professional.

More photos can be seen here, in Time Out New York

I know most of the people who read this are people who follow me on FB, and you’ve already heard all this.  But just in case someone else is reading, I wanted to post it here.  Because I’m so very proud of this show.

Next, the creation of Deadpool.  It will be epic.  There will be poems and songs (not really. But it took for-fucking-ever.)

Leave a Reply

