Rogue: Nerdlesque on the Fly

Posted: October 14, 2011 in Uncategorized

“Know what the first rule of flying is?… Love. Can know all the math in the ‘verse but take a boat in the air that you don’t love? She’ll shake you off just as sure as a turn in the worlds. Love keeps her in the air when she oughtta fall down.

—Malcolm Reynolds

When it started to look like DeadPool just wasn’t going to happen in time I had to come up with a Plan B.  It had to be Marvel and it had to be good.  One of the things I’m most proud of, when it comes to Epic Win, is that none of us slap on a sexy character costume from the Halloween store and then strip it off.  There’s a lot of work and a lot of passion that goes into everything we do.  So how the hell could I do that standard justice when I had less than a week to make the damn costume?  The answer, it turned out was pretty simple.

Love.

We don’t slave over costumes and choreography so we can be the best.  We do it because we love the characters, we love the stories, we want to do them justice.  So who in the Marvel universe do I love (who preferably has an easy to pull together costume?)  Rogue.

Super hero costumes don't get much easier

Rogue was what really hooked me into the first X-Men movie (and my undying ‘shipping of a Rogue/Wolverine pairing)  I mean Rogue’s whole deal is that she can’t touch anyone.  Instant drama!  Instant doomed love the moment she hits it off with anyone.  It’s a wonder Joss Whedon didn’t come up with it.  There are few things that get my motor running more than a doomed love story.  And talk about someone people can identify with; isolation, sexual frustration, wanting what you can’t have, the fear that you will hurt everyone you ever love, but also that stunning beauty in the fact that you can learn so much about someone through physical touch.  This is a character that makes the writer/actor in me go NOM NOM NOM NOM.

So I latched into that desire for physical connection and the agony of not being able to have it.  The maddening sexiness of having a relationship that’s NOTHING BUT sexual tension.  Burlesque is all about sexual tension.  That’s one of the things I love about it.  And once I decided on that (really, just once I decided on Rogue) the song came to me almost instantly.

And it pretty much wrote itself from there.

At the very least, I think this is going to be by sexiest Epic Win act, though that’s always debatable and depends largely on taste.  But I think it’s still a great exploration of the character and what makes her so accessible to an audience, which is what drew me to Marvel in the first place.

Also, WOOF!

Comments
  1. I still wanna know why she couldn’t have Forge make her a mutant-power-dampener bracelet like every goddamn X-Man enemy always has ready for them.

    • definitelynotdita says:

      Oh sure, be logical. I think there was a storyline where she didn’t have powers for a while and her and Gambit ran off for a few weeks to do nothing but bone, but I can’t remember what it was that turned off her powers. I also think condoms and a full body latex catsuit would make sex possible but comic books don’t usually get that kinky

Leave a Reply

