DeadPool: Wish Fulfillment

Posted: October 5, 2011 in Uncategorized

When Schaffer and Nelson mentioned doing a Marvel vs DC show, I jumped at the chance.  Our Star Trek vs Star Wars show had been a HUGE hit and tons of fun because the fans were truly rabid and a Marvel vs DC show was bound to have just as fervent an audience.  Also, I’m way more into comics than hard scifi.  My mom got me into comics when I was 8 by introducing me to Elf Quest.  After that we would go to the comic book store every month and buy a stack of comics and that’s one of my favorite memories; browsing with my mom, getting recommendations (and discounts) from the guys who worked there after we became regulars. The only problem was that I wasn’t *that* into Marvel or DC.  Literally all the comics I read in my younger years (Elf Quest, Bone, Tank Girl, Wild C.A.T.s, Johnny the Homicidal Maniac) were independent.  I liked the X-men movies and the new Batman movies, and I’d heard a fair amount about Marvel when I dated one of their letterers, but that was about the extent of my contact with them.  I had a feeling I’d probably go with Marvel because, from what I’d seen, the Marvel characters seemed more complex and human and their powers were very often as much a burden as they were and asset, which is something I can really relate to.

So I asked the Facebook Hivemind what’s your favorite Marvel/DC character and why?  And what was really interesting about the answers was that, aside from way more people answering when I asked about Marvel, the people who named a DC character mostly said “I like  ___ he’s cool.” But the people who talked about Marvel characters, almost all of them basically said (often without realizing it) “I like the comic book version of myself.” And THAT’s what I wanted; characters people identify with.  I went through a number of X-men and most of my ideas were either incredibly complicated or well nigh impossible.  But someone, actually a number of someones, said “You should do Deadpool, he knows he’s in a comic book.”  ::record scratch::

He had me at hello.

So I read some of his comics and I completely fell in love.  This is a guy who cannot die, who has no loyalties or any kind of sanity. He does not give a fuck.  If you rip off his arm, he will hit you with it.  If you are five times his size he will collapse the building around the two of you because he knows it won’t kill him.  And he will do all of this while arguing with himself and making smartass remarks to anyone in his path.  This may not be someone I identify with, but by god it is someone I want to identify with.

And what is Burlesque for, if not fulfilling fantasies?

Unfortunately, my life kind of exploded.  There were new jobs (I have three now not counting performing, modeling, prodomming and teaching poledancing classes) and too much rent and extra gigs to cover said rent and travel and book pitching and looking for a new place and cleaning out 8 years of stuff from my soon to be old apartment so I can move and, dear readers, EVEN MORE THINGS THAN THAT.  On top of this, I made this costume REALLY hard to make, which you wouldn’t think I could do since DeadPool pretty much just wears a bodysuit but I am a MASTER of making things hard on myself and when I finally write about actually making this costume it shall be epic (hopefully the act will be as well)

It’s coming very close to the crunch.  The show is on the 14th and 15th and I have done everything I can but whether or not this act happens at this Epic Win show depends largely on the postal system, which has screwed me many many many times in the past.  So clap really hard if you believe in DeadPool and pray to any God that’ll have you that this all works out.

If it doesn’t, I have a backup plan and you’ll be getting a post called how to throw together a superhero act in two days or less.  I’ll also be begging Shaffer and Nelson to do an X-Men show or, if they really hate the idea, I’ll be producing it myself.  But I hope it doesn’t come to that because I’m a terrible producer.

Pray.  For.  Mojo.

Quote:

It’s like we’re artists and this is how we screw ourselves.— Daria

Comments
  1. […] Hey, remember that time I said I was gonna do a DeadPool act? […]

Leave a Reply

