Sweeney’s Bod 3: Post Mortem

Posted: May 3, 2011 in Uncategorized

The show was awesome. Let’s just say that right off the bat. If you have any doubts, check out this cast photo.
Rated_R_For_Violence_01
Bam!

My act was… a little rocky. It was good but I think it *could* Amazing and it’s not there yet.

The costume is pretty solid. There are some fidly issues, such as getting the tuxedo stripe to lay flat. And I’m not really happy with the jacket but I don’t know why. I may glitz it up more so it’s “Burlesque-y” but I’m not sure.
Rated_R_For_Violence_22
The razors were kind of a no go. One of the tubes sprung a leak. The caulking did nothing to seal them and I used E6000 but I don’t think it had enough time to cure. And even though one of them did work, the fake blood we used was too thick to get sucked up into the bulb. Live and learn (and then use thinner fake blood)

The wig was somewhat short shrifted when it came to time so I didn’t do too much to style it and I wasn’t crazy about it the first night. Luckily(?) it got a pretty good splash of blood during the first performance and had to be washed out and ended up looking way better the second night because I let it be a bit more crazy. Similarly, I was less nervous and, thus, much freer with the makeup the second night and it looked a lot better because of it.

For performance analysis, let’s go to the tape:

This was the first performance.

It looks better than it felt but it’s still pretty rocky. I never actually had time to rehearse (the costume ATE MY WHOLE LIFE) and it shows. It shows mainly because you can’t think and act at the same time. It can’t be done. This is why rehearsing exists in the first place. You can’t be in the moment, you can’t really feel the emotions you’re supposed to be feeling, while the majority of your brain is focused on what you’re supposed to do next. This may explain some of the truly stupid things actors have done on stage. Or it may not.
Generally when you try to think and act at the same time you just blather around playing mood, which in this case is sexy.
Apparently I can think and be sexy. So it ain’t all bad.

Going over the movement in my mind I realized that the act had a little too much going on in it, the jacket removal and vest removal were too similar, and I had failed to show off my greatest physical asset (which is a bit like having a Van Gogh museum and hiding Starry Starry Night in an attic somewhere) So I resolved to cut the vest from the act, slow the fuck down, and make sure to show my ass.

Burlesque really does make for the best performance notes.

Also, having not rehearsed with the blood It didn’t occur to me to try REALLY REALLY hard to NOT dump it on my face. I didn’t know I’d NEED to try really hard. I figured my natural instincts would prevent me from dumping giant bowl of chemicals directly onto my mouth and eyes. No such luck.
I also did not take into account the aftermath of this act. My brain is not good with the follow through. It did not occur to me that once I dumped a giant bowl of blood on me I would be covered in blood and something would have to be done about that. So once I got off stage I ran down to the basement slop sink, squinting my soap filled eyes and spitting the truly horrific taste of palmolive out of my mouth, and proceeded to take a sponge bath in the sink. Unfortunately I didn’t have a sponge so I used my (blood drenched) socks. They may never be the same again.
So the next night I brought a sponge, a towel, a different pair of socks, a buttload of plastic bags and reminded myself over and over and over aim for the tits.
Rated_R_For_Violence_23

Logistically it went a little better. I showed my ass, got to act a bit more (though, it’s a really hard song to act if you’re not singing) and even had some room to play (i.e. jumping into the seat of the lovely Brad Lawrence)  There’s still a lot of work to do.  It needs a lot more rehearsal and some stricter choreography.  In a perfect world I’d actually be singing the song but it’s not logistically feasible at the moment so I may try lip syncing it.  I think I’ll also lose the scarf and maybe sew the gloves to the sleeves so it all comes off in one fell swoop. I’ve got to make the razors work, polish up the act a bit and find a formula for blood that won’t require a full on sponge bath because it’s really not easy to do that in most venues. The blood we used had a corn syrup and dish detergent base. I want to try water thickened with arrowroot and see how easy it is to wash that off. I still want to change the jacket a little. I’m just not sure how.

Other than that though, I’m really excited about it. I think it’s just going to get better and better.
Rated_R_For_Violence_24
With a finish like this, how could it not?

Rest now my friends. Rest now forever. Sleep now the untroubled sleep of the angels.

Comments
  1. Bottom picture is about to become my new desktop wallpaper.

    Possibly forever.

  2. This performance blew my mind. My very favorite. You are one of my favorite artists to watch and I am really glad I found your blog.

Leave a Reply

